Shot Put – Champions

International Associations of Athletic Federation (IAAF) is the governing body of Shot Put. Every participating country has its own governing body to organize the sport successfully throughout the calendar.

Here is a list of some important tournaments in Shot Put −

  • Summer Olympics
  • World Championship
  • Asian Games
  • World Indoor Championship
  • Commonwealth Games

Shot Put is a sport in which both males and females can take part. Let us now have a brief synopsis on some of the champions of this sport.

Adam Nelson

Adam Nelson

Adam Nelson is an athlete from America who has specialization in shot put. He is three times Olympics medallist as he has won a gold in 2004 and 2013 and a silver in 2000.

He has won four medals in World Championships which include a gold in 2004 and three silvers, one each in 2001, 2003, and 2007.

Nelson has also won a gold in 2005 and two silvers, one each in 2004 and 2007 in IAAF World Athletics Final.

Tomasz Majewski

Tomasz Majewski

Tomasz Majewski is an athlete from Poland who has won many medals in his career. In Olympics, he won a gold in 2008 and another gold in 2012.

In World Championships, he a won a silver in 2009. In European Championships, he has won two bronzes, one in 2008 and the other in 2012.

Majeswski won a gold in World Indoor Championships in 2009. He has won two golds and four silvers in European Team Championships, one gold in European Cup Winter Throwing and one gold in Jeux de la Francophonie.

Valerie Adams

Valerie Adams

Valerie Adams is a shot put thrower from New Zealand who has won many championships in her career.

Valerie won her first medal which was bronze in World Championships and her first gold medal was in 2006 Commonwealth Games. In the Commonwealth Games, she made a throw of 19.66 meters.

At Beijing Olympics, she won a gold by throwing the shot put up to 20.56 meter. In 2016 Olympics, she won a silver medal.