Boxing – Champions

Boxing tournaments are held in different categories, depending on the weight of the competitors. Following are some of the legends of the sport.

Muhammad Ali, the American professional boxer is one of the most renowned heavyweight champion in sports history. He reserves the record of being the only one to have won the lineal World Heavyweight Championship title three times, in 1964, 1974, and 1978. He won several historic boxing titles and hence earned the nickname “Greatest”. His unprecedented grace and unique style made him a legend and Sports Illustrated declared him to be the “Sportsman of the Century”.

Muhammad Ali

Mike Tyson, often referred to as ‘Kid Dynamite’ is considered as one of the best heavyweight champions of all time and has an impressive list of accomplishments to his credit. He holds the record of being the youngest boxer to have won the World Boxing Council, World Boxing Association, and International Boxing Federation heavyweight titles at 20 years, 4 months, and 22 days old.

Mike Tyson

Henry Jackson Jr., known as Henry Armstrong is regarded as one of the greatest boxers of all time. He not only belonged to the group of boxers who won boxing championships in three or more different divisions (there were only eight universally recognized World titles at the time) but also has the record of holding three world championship titles (featherweight, lightweight, and welterweight) at a time in 1938. Armstrong successfully defended his welterweight title 19 times and was known for his style of throwing punches from all angles.

Henry Jackson Jr

Herbert Lewis Hardwick, the Afro Puerto Rican boxer, was inducted into the hall of fame in 2012. He primarily fought middleweight and welterweight matches. Hardwick, who was well known by his nickname “Cocao Kid” won the World Colored Championships in both these divisions.

Herbert Lewis

Joseph William Calzaghe, the former Ring Super Middleweight and light heavyweight champion, is the longest reigning super middleweight champion, having held the title for more than 10 years. He successfully defended the title 21 times, however, finally relinquished it move up to the light heavyweight division. In 2009, The Ring Magazine ranked him Number 3 in the world.

Joseph William Calzaghe

Rocky Marciano, is said to be the only boxer to have held the heavyweight title without a bout tie or defeat throughout his career. Marciano was famous for his cast iron chin and incredible endurance power. Known for his ferocious punches, he holds the highest knockout percentage of 87.75.

Rocky Marciano

Floyd Joy Mayweather Jr., is best known as the undefeated professional five division world champion. Mayweather has 11 world titles to his credit, and has won the lineal championship in four different weight categories. He topped the list of the 50 highest paid athletes by Forbes and Sports Illustrated for the year 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Floyd Joy Mayweather

Manny Pacquiao, the Filipino boxer is the first and the only eight-division world champion. Pacquiao, is a three-time winner of the ‘The Ring’ and ‘BWAA’ Fighter of the Year award having won in the year 2006, 2008, and 2009. The Boxing Writers Association of America, World Boxing Council, and World Boxing Organization endowed him with the title “Fighter of the Decade” for the 2000s. Forbes ranked him as the second highest paid athlete in the world in 2015.

Manny Pacquiao