Formula One – Champion of Champions

In Formula One racing up to 4 drivers can be used by teams in a season. Following are some of the charismatic and fastest drivers of all times in the history of F1 racing.

World Drivers’ Championship Award

The driver, who scores the most points in a Formula One World Championship season, is awarded the Formula One World Driver’s Championship.

Formula One has produced some greatest sportsmen and legends. There will always be the argument of who is the best F1 driver, but here are some of the best F1 drivers of all time.

Michael Schumacher, the living legend and the greatest Formula 1 driver, is the winner of 7 world championships for the year 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004. Other than winning maximum championships, his other records include fastest laps and maximum number of races won during a single season. Schumacher, is the only F1 driver to have made history by finishing in the top three rank in every race of a season. Formula One official website quotes him as “statistically the greatest driver the sport has ever seen”.

Michael Schumacher

Ayrton Senna, was the most successful and leading driver of the modern era. Senna, who unfortunately lost his life in an accident leading the San Marino Grand Prix in 1994, won three championships in the year 1988, 1990, and 1991. During his short career, he was acclaimed for qualifying speed over one lap and wet weather performances. He held the record, for most pole positions for most pole positions during the period 1989-2006.

Ayrton Senna

Juan Manuel Fangio, reigned the first decade of F1 racing, having won the world championship five times in the year 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957. This record stood unbeaten for 47 years till it was beaten by Michael Schumacher. Fangio also holds the record of reserving the highest winning percentage (46.15) in F1, winning 24 races out of the 52 races that he entered into.

Juan Manuel

Niki Lauda, is three times F1 world champion to have won the races in the year 1975, 1977 and 1984. He is the only accomplished driver to have won the championship for both Ferrari and McLaren.

Niki Lauda

Alain Prost, is the four-time F1 world champion. He held the record of maximum Grand Prix conquests during the period 1987-2001. Out of the total 202 races that he entered into, Prost won 52 of them. He was the recipient of the World Sports Awards of the Century in the motor sport category in 1999.

Alain Prost

Sebastian Vettel, one of the most successful F1 driver, is the four-time winner of F1 world championship for consecutive years 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. In 2009, Vettel was declared as the youngest driver ever to have finished the world championship as a runner-up. He also went on to become the youngest driver to have won his first world championship in 2010.

Sebastian Vettel

Constructors’ Championship Award

The constructor, who scores the most points in a Formula One World Championship season, is awarded the Formula One World Constructor’s Championship. The different cases for awarding this title are −

  • If the chassis and engine of a car is constructed by the same entity, then the car’s make is the name of that one constructor. Eg: Toyota, Ferrari, etc, and the Constructor’s championship is given to that one constructor.

  • If the chassis and engine of a car is constructed by 2 separate entities, then the car’s make is also taken as two separate makes and points are scored individually. Eg: Lotus-Climax McLaren-Mercedes, etc. In this case, the Constructor’s championship is given to the maker of the chassis.

Current World Constructors’ Champion

The Formula One World Constructors’ Champion for 2014 is Mercedes.

List of Constructors for 2015 Season

S.No. Constructor Engine Country
1 Ferrari Ferrari Italy
2 Force India Mercedes India
3 Lotus Mercedes United Kingdom
4 Manor Ferrari United Kingdom
5 McLaren Honda United Kingdom
6 Mercedes Mercedes Germany
7 Red Bull Renault Austria
8 Sauber Ferrari Switzerland
9 Toro Rosso Renault Italy
10 Williams Mercedes United Kingdom