Diving – Champions

FINA (Federation International de Nation) is the governing body of Diving. Every participating country has its own governing body to organize the sport successfully throughout the calendar.

Here is a list of some major events held in diving −

  • Summer Olympics

  • World Aquatics Championship

  • Asian Games

  • Commonwealth Games

  • Arena European

  • Continental Conference

Let us now discuss briefly about some of the champions of diving and their career highlights.

Greg Louganis

Greg Louganis

Greg Louganis is a competitor from United States. He is the only male to win two consecutive diving events in Olympic Games.

In his diving career, he has won 17 gold medals in various sub categories out of which four are in Olympics and five are in World Championships.

He has also won six golds in Pan American Games. Being one of the most proficient athletes, he received James E Sullivan award from the Armature Athletic Union.

Klaus Dibiasi

Klaus Dibiasi

Klaus Dibiasi is a diver from Italy who is the winner of three golds in Olympics.

At the starting of his career, he won one silver medal in 1964 Olympics and consecutively won gold medals in Olympics in 1968, 1972, 1nd 1976 from platform.

He also won one silver medal in 1968 Olympics in springboard. Along with this, he has won two golds and two silvers in World Championships and two golds in Summer Universiade.

Fu Mingxia

Fu Mingxia

Fu Mingxia is a diver from China. She has won multiple gold medals in Olympics. With four Olympic golds and one silver, she is one of the best divers China has ever produced.

She became the youngest diving champion of all time when she won the platform-diving world championship in 1991 at the age of 12. She earned a gold at the 1992 Barcelona Games, when she was just 13 years old.

Fu dominated the diving arena throughout the 1990s with her stunning and extremely difficult dives. During the 2000 Olympics, Fu won her fourth gold.

Xiong Ni

Xiong Ni

Xiong Ni is a diver from China. He won his first medal just at the age of 14 in 1988 Summer Olympics. In his journey in diving till now, he has bagged six gold medals, three silver medals and one bronze medal in various championships.

He won three golds one silver, and one bronze medal in Olympics, one silver in World Championships, and one gold and one silver in Asian Games.

He has also won two golds in Summer Universiade. After winning 3-meter springboard in National Athletic meet in 2001, he announced his retirement.