Biathlon – Championships

The International Biathlon Union (IBU) is the governing body of Biathlon. Given below are some major International Biathlon events in contrast to the Olympics, World Championships and the World cup.

  • Biathlon at Winter Olympics
  • Biathlon World Cup
  • Biathlon Junior World Championships

Biathlon at Winter Olympics

Biathlon was introduced in Winter Olympics of 1960 having the individual event of 20km. Relay of 4 x 7.5 km was introduced in 1968 Winter Olympics and sprint of 10km in 1980 Winter Olympics. Women debuted in this game in 1992 Winter Olympics. Most of the gold has been won by Germany and next to it is Norway.

Biathlon World Cup

The Biathlon world cup for men was started in 1977-78 season and for women in 1982-83 season. Firstly it was called European cup but later on it was introduced as world cup. The world cup is mostly held in between November and March. The event includes relay race 4-6 times. After the end of whole event a Big Crystal Globe trophy is awarded to the winner. The winner is the one who has the highest total points.

Biathlon Junior World Championships

The Biathlon World Junior Championships were started in 1967 for men and in 1984 for women. Previously the venue for these championships were same as the world cup. Later the venues were changed to Czech Republic, Finland, and Austria.