Cricket – Tournaments

ICC is the supreme governing body of all the international cricket events and tours. All the international teams are ranked based on their performance in a calendar year. Ranking for cricket teams is based on their progress during international events and tours. These ranks are assigned individually for each format.

Currently, there are 10 test playing nations that are eligible for all three formats. Rest of the countries have to play qualification rounds for entry into international events like ODI World Cup and T20 World Cup. The World Cup is conducted at senior and under-19 levels.

Test status is given to a national team depending on the performance at domestic level and global events. We will look at champions of different formats in the last chapter. Here is a list of all the global events organized recently by ICC and multiple nations participate for the ultimate trophy.

Tournament Name Venue
T20 World Cup 2015 India
ODI World Cup 2015 Australia, New Zealand
ICC Champions Trophy 2013 England, Wales
ICC U-19 World Cup 2014 UAE
ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 India

The venue for all the international events are finalized by ICC based on its facilities, playing area standards, and security measures.

All the cricket playing nations have their individual bodies that manage cricket events at the domestic level. The domestic level matches are also played as one-day and five-day games. The one-day games at domestic level are called List-A and five-day format is called First-class. Best players are picked from the domestic tournaments to represent country at the highest level. These national cricket boards also manage venues when another national team is touring their country. They are responsible for visiting player’s facilities and security.

The following table illustrates the domestic tournaments with respect to country and format.

Tournament Name Country Format
Ranji Trophy India Five-day
Challenger Trophy India One-day
Big Bash League Austrialia T20
The Sheffield Shield Austrialia Five-day
English County Cricket England Five-day
Caribbean T20 League West Indies T20